OpenMarine

Full Version: A Question About WiFi
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All, 

I'm very new to this so my questions here may be obvious to some/most. 

I am currently working on setting up a Raspberry Pi4 B+ to run on my boat. The boat is completely void of any navigation equipment as its a new interior build, and i plan to use openplotter for nearly all of it (bar paper charts) 

I have ordered and i am waiting on a Moitessier HAT 2 and in the meantime i am trying to set up the Pi with a LCD screen that i plan to mount at the chart table with a keyboard and integrated mouse. 

So. 

First, i installed the Starting Edition image and it worked very well. 

Secondly, i installed the Headless image and again it worked very well, i could remote in with my tablet with RealVNC, however i couldn't connect to my home wifi at all. I tried to follow various guides on how to fix this and kept getting the error 

"Could not connect to wpa_supplicant"

I thought maybe i would try the Moitessier image to see if that would work and i was able to connect to wifi again, but i have lost the ability to remote in unless i have both the pi and my tablet connected to my home network. This won't be ideal on my boat as i want to run my tablet headless at the helm. 

In summary and my questions:

Ultimately i want to be able to use the Moitessier HAT, so i assume i will need to use the Moitessier image to get me started. So is there a way i can set up the Moitessier image to use the Pi as a wifi network so i can remote into it with my tablet?

And can i do this while also maintaining the ability to connect to wifi?

Thanks 
Rhys
Rhys,