OpenMarine

Full Version: AIS Collision Alarm: CPA/TCPA Alert Data Output
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello All,

I'm a beginner and loving the OpenPlotter and dAISy combination for AIS information.

Is there a way to output CPA/TCPA (Closest Point of Approach) Alert Data to a 4x20 LCD and flash an LED?  

I have the hardware setup from Adafruit tutorials, but does anyone know if an OpenPlotter setup like this has been documented before?  How can I access the CPA/TCPA Alert Data?  What's the best way to send it out to the LCD, Node Red?

A similar boundary alarm could be triggered with the plugin WatchDog, but it would not have the relevant data of the CPA/TCPA alarm, such as vessel name, bearing, speed, or TCPA.

I'm running OpenPlotter V0.9 headless on a RPi3 with a dAISy hat.  (AMAZING Software and Hardware!  Thank you to All who have contributed.)

Any help or pointers appreciated. Thanks!

Geoff
(2018-01-29, 10:04 PM)GSAtlantic Wrote: [ -> ]Is there a way to output CPA/TCPA (Closest Point of Approach) Alert Data?

Should this be a feature request?

Geoff
are you sure you want this as part of OP ? In OpenCPN you already have the various AIS alarm settings - but "just" audio and not your requested blinking LED.
Maybe a feature request to the opencpn team to get a some addl NMEA message and then use OP to action on these messages.

just my 2c - maybe others have better ideas ?
(2018-02-04, 10:00 AM)SkipperEarly Wrote: [ -> ]are you sure you want this as part of OP ? In OpenCPN you already have the various AIS alarm settings - but "just" audio and not your requested blinking LED.
Maybe a feature request to the opencpn team to get a some addl NMEA message and then use OP to action on these messages.

just my 2c - maybe others have better ideas ?

Skipper,