OpenMarine
How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - Printable Version

+- OpenMarine (https://forum.openmarine.net)
+-- Forum: OpenPlotter (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Node Red (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=15)
+--- Thread: How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? (/showthread.php?tid=1035)



How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - Alpenskipper - 2018-02-20

Hi!

To clean up my node mess in node red, I want to split instrument and sensor nodes on two tabs in the node red dashboard. (picture)

As soon as I use the signalkweb socket listener node (ws://localhost:3000/signalk/v1/stream ) on more then one tab, no data is transfered. When I delete the scond the signalkweb socket listener node, the data is streames again.

Is there a solution to use the same signalk data stream on several tabs?

Martin

   


RE: How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - PaddyB - 2018-02-20

(2018-02-20, 04:46 PM)Alpenskipper Wrote: Is there a solution to use the same signalk data stream on several tabs?

You could either use  link nodes or put the data into global variables. There's a handy node called contextbrowser which displays the values of node/flow/global variables in the side bar.

https://www.npmjs.com/package/node-red-contrib-contextbrowser


RE: How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - Alpenskipper - 2018-02-20

Thanks Paddy!

The link node is what I needed. Sitll a lot to learn about node red, but worth it!

Martin


RE: How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - jim321 - 2018-02-20

i have also used a mqtt out node to send the websocket to another computer or tab.seems to work
the link node is probably the correct way Smile
Code:
[{"id":"f9b8ac34.ac186","type":"websocket in","z":"217cab7.d842f54","name":"ws","server":"d009e142.23546","client":"","x":85,"y":159.6666612625122,"wires":[["33b5ed11.586bc2","1be6a5e8.8fb36a","157ee13a.40ff0f","897027a1.6c99c8"]]},{"id":"897027a1.6c99c8","type":"mqtt out","z":"217cab7.d842f54","name":"","topic":"ws","qos":"","retain":"","broker":"d83d8d21.7359e","x":218,"y":181,"wires":[]},{"id":"d009e142.23546","type":"websocket-listener","z":"","path":"ws://localhost:3000/signalk/v1/stream","wholemsg":"false"},{"id":"d83d8d21.7359e","type":"mqtt-broker","z":"","name":"","broker":"192.168.1.104","port":"1883","clientid":"","usetls":false,"compatmode":true,"keepalive":"60","cleansession":true,"willTopic":"","willQos":"0","willPayload":"","birthTopic":"","birthQos":"0","birthPayload":""}]



RE: How to use signalk stream in more then one dashboard tab? - Opie91 - 2018-02-22

(2018-02-20, 07:50 PM)jim321 Wrote: i have also used a mqtt out node to send the websocket to another computer or tab.seems to work
the link  node is probably the correct way Smile
Code:
[{"id":"f9b8ac34.ac186","type":"websocket in","z":"217cab7.d842f54","name":"ws","server":"d009e142.23546","client":"","x":85,"y":159.6666612625122,"wires":[["33b5ed11.586bc2","1be6a5e8.8fb36a","157ee13a.40ff0f","897027a1.6c99c8"]]},{"id":"897027a1.6c99c8","type":"mqtt out","z":"217cab7.d842f54","name":"","topic":"ws","qos":"","retain":"","broker":"d83d8d21.7359e","x":218,"y":181,"wires":[]},{"id":"d009e142.23546","type":"websocket-listener","z":"","path":"ws://localhost:3000/signalk/v1/stream","wholemsg":"false"},{"id":"d83d8d21.7359e","type":"mqtt-broker","z":"","name":"","broker":"192.168.1.104","port":"1883","clientid":"","usetls":false,"compatmode":true,"keepalive":"60","cleansession":true,"willTopic":"","willQos":"0","willPayload":"","birthTopic":"","birthQos":"0","birthPayload":""}]


With the same basic idea I have sent the signal K stream to mqtt and had it come in on another pi running openplotter in my basement.

I use the second pi as a poor mans FRED server with no node limits or subscription fee.