OpenMarine
[SOLVED] UDP input does not work - Printable Version

+- OpenMarine (https://forum.openmarine.net)
+-- Forum: OpenPlotter (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Bug Reports (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] UDP input does not work (/showthread.php?tid=754)



[SOLVED] UDP input does not work - kste - 2017-09-10

I have a Shipmodul Miniplex 3E in the lan.
If I create a TCP Input On Openplotter (0.15.1) connection, it works, connects and receives NMEA 0183 strings
If I configure the Shipmodul with UDP broadcast and set up in UDP also the connection to Openplotter, it does not work, the diagnostics does not display any input string.
If I create the same connection to Opencpn in the same RPI it works correctly.
Thanks


RE: UDP input does not work - Sailoog - 2017-09-12

Type "openplotter" in the terminal and reset NMEA multiplexer. Any error?
Paste here content of: /home/.kplex.conf


RE: UDP input does not work - kste - 2017-09-12

bind failed for udp interface shipmodul: Cannot assign requested address
Failed to initialize Interface shipmodul

kplex.conf:

###defaults

[udp]
name=system_a
direction=in
address=localhost
port=10110

[udp]
name=system_b
direction=in
port=10110

[tcp]
name=opencpn
direction=out
mode=server
ofilter=-**RMB
port=10109

[udp]
name=signalk
direction=out
ofilter=-OC***
address=127.0.0.1
port=55556

###end of defaults

###OpenPlotter GUI settings

[serial]
name=auto_gp
direction=in
optional=yes
filename=/dev/ttyOP_GP
baud=4800

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=192.168.8.3
port=10120

#[tcp]
#name=shipmodulout
#direction=out
#optional=yes
#mode=server
#address=192.168.8.3
#port=10110
#ofilter=+OCHDM:-all

###end of OpenPlotter GUI settings

###Manual settings


RE: UDP input does not work - Sailoog - 2017-09-12

here you are difining an UDP input that will listen to any data in adress 192.168.8.3 and port 10120:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=192.168.8.3
port=10120

Is 192.168.8.3 the address of your raspberry? is this address fixed in the router?
Try with address "localhost"
Have you set your shipmodul to send data to address 192.168.8.3 and port 10120?


RE: UDP input does not work - kste - 2017-09-12

(2017-09-12, 04:40 PM)Sailoog Wrote: here you are difining an UDP input that will listen to any data in adress 192.168.8.3 and port 10120:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=192.168.8.3
port=10120

Is 192.168.8.3 the address of your raspberry? is this address fixed in the router?
Try with address "localhost"
Have you set your shipmodul to send data to address 192.168.8.3 and port 10120?
192.168.8.3 is the address of shipmodul
shipmodul is setting in udp broadcast and port 10120
Raspberry address is 192.168.8.101
All other device on the lan receive shipmodul nmea data via UDP

if I type openplotter the message is:
> bind failed for udp interface shipmodul: Cannot assign requested address
> Failed to initialize Interface shipmodul
bat now the shipmodul is off (I connect to raspberry in remote) This evening I try with shipmodul on


RE: UDP input does not work - Sailoog - 2017-09-12

From kplex doc:

"<address> is the interface address to bind to for inbound kplex
interfaces or the address to send to for outbound interfaces. If
not specified for an input interface, kplex will receive broadcast
and unicast traffic sent to the desired port on a given interface if
one is specified, or all interfaces if non is specified."

So, try this:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=localhost
port=10120

And if this does not work, add this after ###Manual settings into the kplex conf file:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
port=10120


RE: UDP input does not work - kste - 2017-09-12

I tried to include:
[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=localhost
port=10120

but it does not work

I tried to include:
[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
address=192.168.8.101
port=10120

but it still does not work

after ###Manual settings into the kplex conf file, I wrote:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
port=10120

but it does not appear in the list of connections on nmea0183 tab even after startup restart


RE: UDP input does not work - Sailoog - 2017-09-13

(2017-09-12, 07:10 PM)kste Wrote: after ###Manual settings into the kplex conf file, I wrote:

[udp]
name=shipmodul
direction=in
optional=yes
port=10120

but it does not appear in the list of connections on nmea0183 tab even after startup restart

Manual settings do not appear on NMEA 0183 tab but they work anyway.


RE: UDP input does not work - kste - 2017-09-13

Solved! The address need broadcast address 192.168.8.255, work too from gui setting.
:-)