This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Marine Anemometer Project
I'm new to OpenCPN, OpenPlotter.  I've installed it on a RasPi4 and played around with the charting and have started giving thoughts for a DIY autopilot to use with PyPilot.  As part of that I started looking at Marine Anemometers and got rather a big sticker shock.  I'm assuming the cheap weather stations (La Crosse, AcuRite, etc) have too slow an update and crappy direction resolution (N, NNE, NE...).  Having worked with Microcontrollers and software for many years, I am struggling with the price jump to Marine gear.  I'm guessing its just... what the market will bare!   Dodgy  Of course, I did a search here on the forum and saw several comments about others starting one, but I didn't see any complete projects laid out.  Maybe they finished them and decided to go into production and undercut the other guys by say... half price. Big Grin  But half of those systems is still too rich for my sensibilities!

Maybe there is some fundamental road block that I'll slam into in a bit, but as of now, I don't see it.  I've laid out a tentative solution and I have some parts coming in tomorrow to test my WAG's.  Based on what I have so far, I'm looking at an all up price of around $10 US and certainly less than $20.