OpenMarine

Full Version: New Member - new OP system
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Greetings from what is usually Warm Miami - today started at 39F and may reach 62F Huh
I am new to the Raspberry Pi and Open Plotter, and my  Garmin GPS plotter's screen burned - so a good opportunity to replace it.

I want to connect: Depthfinder (Raymarine i40), Wind Instrument (Raymarine ST60), Tillerpilot (Raymarine ST1000+). I also want to be able to monitor bilge water level in each hull.Maybe connect other instruments later on. I also plan to connect to an iPadmini and maybe a laptop to display. As my elder small catamaran is spartan, I want to minimize amp usage.

My question is whether I should buy the Rp3iB+ or buy the 4? I am planning to buy the Moitissier hat in order to get GPS and AIS read. I understand Openplotter is stable with Rpi3, I am not sure if it is with Rpi4, not sure if Motissier is compatible with Rpi4? How about buying a case?

Also, I have read that I need to buy additional cables to connect the instruments as they are NMEA0183 - looking for examples or brands.
additional question is in reference to power supply to the Rpi - understand is better to have a self-powered USB hub and also buy a beefier power supply for the Rpi - looking for examples.

One last question - since buying from Miami - can I get the Motissuer hat from the US?

Thanks
Hi Carlos. Do not hesitate, Raspberry 4, moitessier hat 2 and OpenPlotter 2. Moitessier hat 2 cases are not available yet, between 18 - 20 February.

OpenPlotter 2 is near stable, maybe in 2 weeks.

Our savings are small so we do not have partners anywhere and the only place to buy is from Barcelona - Catalonia by tracked postal service or DHL express. More than hundred units already sent to USA.
moltes gràcies - thanks for the response.
(2020-01-22, 05:55 PM)MIAMIPROAS Wrote: [ -> ]moltes gràcies - thanks for the response.