OpenMarine

Full Version: Sending GPS info from OpenPlotter to VHF radio
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am a newbie to this forum. I have configured a Raspberry-Pi 4 to have OpenPlotter installed on it.
It has a usb GPS working already. A usb SDR also up and running. 
I have purchased a usb to RS485 to connect to the accessory cable provided by Uniden.
I have a UM435 vhf radio.
I have attempted to interface the OpenPlotter to the VHF radio.
I have followed a number of tutorials on how to connect and trouble shoot.

Here are the steps taken so far:
1. Updated all software on raspberry and openplotter.
2. Verified the gps and AIS is working on the raspberrry device.
3. Verified the polarity of the 2 wire connector on the USB to RS485.
4. Connected the accessory cable wires required. Green neg date in and Yellow pos data in.
5. Used Serial app on OpenPlotter to recognize and add new usb device. Used the Signal K connection. Set baud rate to 4800. NMEA ID vhfout. Sending RMC,GLL,GNS,GGA, and ZDA. 
6. Implemented the NMEA to NMEA* plugin in to route the GPS info to the vhfout. Restarted SignalK server.
7. Connected accessory cable to VHF radio. 
8. No GPS info appearing on VHF radio as per manual instruction.
Trouble shooting
I used the server log filtering and I am able to see vhfout information streaming by. 
used the terminal and used cat /dev/ttysOP_vhfout nothing showing up.
Is there anymore information I need to post?
Thanks in advance to all.
Kever
Hi Kever:
I have had the same issues:

I have installed a neo 6m GPS module to replace a globalsat GPS puck type GPS antenna. This has been in usage for years. This has been with the intent to eliminate some issues with using a USB interface with my tablet chartplotte (windows). and also to allow a GPS signal to be fed into my new Uniden VHS.