OpenMarine

Full Version: WiFi Dongle for second WiFi device
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi,
I would like to implement the network as in 'Diagram 2' of the network section in the Open Plotter 2 manual.

I have tried a couple of dongles that I had in my drawer but there don't seem to be compatible Linux drivers and do not appear on the serial devices list(as far as I can tell but I'm very new to this architecture)

Can anyone recommend a suitable wifi dongle that would be a 'plug and play' solution with the latest RPi (Buster) OS/OpenPlotter release? (Raspberry Pi 4 model B).

Many thanks,

Paul

Just to add to the above. I have a lot to learn! I tried other Raspberry Pi forums and it seems there may be issues with support for Realtec being removed from the latest Raspberry Pi Kernel and talk of having to recompile the kernel with new drivers on each kernel update. I feel like I'm stepping through a minefield! Any and all help appreciated but please be gentle!
Paul
(2021-08-08, 01:33 PM)Paul M Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,
I would like to implement the network as in 'Diagram 2' of the network section in the Open Plotter 2 manual.

I have tried a couple of dongles that I had in my drawer but there don't seem to be compatible Linux drivers and do not appear on the serial devices list(as far as I can tell but I'm very new to this architecture)

Can anyone recommend a suitable wifi dongle that would be a 'plug and play' solution with the latest RPi (Buster) OS/OpenPlotter release? (Raspberry Pi 4 model B).

Many thanks,

Paul