OpenMarine

Full Version: How to get True Wind Direction instead of apparent using Signal K.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hi folks,

Please bear with me here since I am a complete novice when it comes to boating and navigational equipment.

I have a project to setup a weather station at home using a decommissioned Gill ultrasonic windsensor I got from where I work.
My plan was to just get environmental data and log it to a database. 

After extensive googling I found that using Signal K on a Raspberry Pi was a good way to decode the iiMWV nmea sentence coming from the sensor. 
Especially since there also was a plugin to write to a influx database.

I thought I had it all figured out until I see that the wind angle is "apparent" and not true direction. 
I see the sensor nmea sentence is sending true direction 0-360 degrees but that is changed to environment.wind.angleApparent in the data browser in Signal K.

Could anyone please point me in the right direction on how to just pass through the "True ground wind direction" that is sent from the sensor??

Andreas
True wind angle has to be calculated, as on a moving vessel the speed of the vessel and the current the vessel is traveling in contribute to the wind speed and direction that is detected by your sensor.

If the sensor is stationary, apparent wind speed will be the same as true wind speed. Apparent wind will be the angle referenced to the forward position on the sensor (+/- 180 degrees). I assume that you will be pointing this reference to north. On my ultrasonic sensor, it's a little mark that I have to align with the centerline of the boat. There are ways in OpenPlotter to calculate true wind direction and speed, but they require a vessel heading and speed to create the numbers, which I'm assuming you don't have.