OpenMarine
using pi gpio outputs / pins arduino - Printable Version

+- OpenMarine (https://forum.openmarine.net)
+-- Forum: Pypilot (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+--- Forum: General discussion (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=18)
+--- Thread: using pi gpio outputs / pins arduino (/showthread.php?tid=1463)

Pages: 1 2

using pi gpio outputs / pins arduino - nvelthuijsen - 2018-09-08

I like to use the GPIO outputs on a raspberry pi to drive an electrical hydraulic pump which allready has two relays for polarisation. I will put in a couple of transistors to drive the relays. But how about the sw? I have no experience with python etc. so do not know how to start.

Anyone experience with using the outputs in OpenPlotter?

Niels.

RE: using gpio outputs - affinite - 2018-09-08

Welcome to the forum
You dont need to do any Python programming.
A Node Red node can be used to drive the GPIO pins. I do this to control (using PWM) a cooling fan for the Pi
see this post http://forum.openmarine.net/showthread.php?tid=1093

RE: using gpio outputs - seandepagnier - 2018-09-08

For the autopilot you would not be using node red. While in theory it is possible, there is too much lag and node read is not meant for real time applications.

Yes you can use the pi gpio directly, but you still need a way to detect the rudder stops. If you use switches, you can use gpio input for those. Otherwise, rudder-feedback and motor stall detection both require analog to digital converter as well as monitoring temperature and voltages, and a way to isolate the raspberry. So for my controllers I already have a uC no reason to use the raspberry gpio, that is why I don't use it.

RE: using gpio outputs - affinite - 2018-09-08

Woops, I hadnt spotted that this was in the PyPilot forum, it just came up in my "new posts" list

RE: using gpio outputs - nvelthuijsen - 2018-09-09