OpenMarine
Newbie alert: Getting errors both in Webapp and Node-RED - Printable Version

+- OpenMarine (https://forum.openmarine.net)
+-- Forum: OpenPlotter (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Node Red (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=15)
+--- Thread: Newbie alert: Getting errors both in Webapp and Node-RED (/showthread.php?tid=4066)

Newbie alert: Getting errors both in Webapp and Node-RED - Mastiff - 2022-05-25

To clarify, I'm a newbie with the Node-RED plugin for SignalK, I'm not a newbie with SignalK (been using that for a couple of years) or Node-RED (been using that for close to ten years for my smarthome and smartcabin). So I installed the plugin to my Pi, which runs SignalK, Node-RED, Home Assistant, a wifi router and a bunch of other stuff. I do a bit of Python, LUA and a tiny bit of YAML and JSON programming for the systems. I am also running a bunch of ESP-32, I think I have 8 in my 24' open pilothouse aluminium boat, which I use for fishing with shellfish pots and some rod and reel fishing. I wanted to have the possibility to log a few things from the plotter in Home Assistant, so I installed the Node-RED plug-in to send it from there to Hass with MQTT messages. But I get no joy, I'm sure it's an idiot mistake. I had a problem finding good info for the plug-in.

First of all I want to use the Node-RED instance I'm already running. Any 2 version won't work on my system, because I am running a few older things for my regular Node-RED, so I don't have the libraries that version 2 demands. So here is what I did: I installed the plug-in and tried to set it up, screenshot:

I don't get where that "unexpected token u" comes from, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it has something to do with my original Node-RED installation.

As for the Node-RED flow it's very simple:

Code: