This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pypilot on old Cetrek autopilot
Hi all

First of all thanks to Sean and to everyone else who is contributing to the pypilot initiative. I am a total newbie on electronics and programming, so please bear with me on the basic questions.

I am working on implementing Pypilot on an old (1980´s) Cetrek wheel pilot on a Northwith 38 Sailboat from 1985.

My setup is currently as follows

Raspberry pi 4+ with Openplotter and Opencpn
Sparkfun ICM-20948 IMU
Arduino Nano
IBT2 Motor controller
Cetrek motor W/clutch and chain drive (motor 12v 80W, clutch 12v 11.2W)
Cetrek rudder sensor with end-of-travel click switches

The idea is to control the whole thing through the Pypilot plugin in openplotter, at a second stage I plan on adding a remote or wired button pad, but that is for a next step.

After navigating different documents and forum threads I have started testing things and I got some results, but still many doubts for the final setup remain. Steps as follow:

- Loaded the latest motor.ino from github (august 2024) after uncommenting #define VNH2SP30 to the nano.
- IMU connection to RPI
- SDA-GPIO02 (Pin 3)
- SCL-GPIO03 (Pin 5)
- VIN-+3v3 (Pin 1)
- GND-GND (Pin 39)
- Nano connection to RPI
- For bench testing connected through USB things seemed to more or less work.