This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Openplotter Charts slow on Raspberry Pi 4
I am new to using Raspberry pi 4 and OpenPlotter. I have looked at Open CPN on my laptop and the speed of the graphics are good, - scrolling, zoom etc But now I want to use a Raspberry Pi 4 and Open Plotter on my boat and am experimenting with it but find the Charts to be VERY slow. 
Am I doing something wrong?
I am using the NOAA ENC charts to test with and have loaded their Lake Ontario charts.

Any suggestions please.
Thanks.
Try using raspi-config and increasing video memory to 384mb (assuming you are using an RPI4 with more than 2GB). Also, have a look at Chart Groups in OpenCPN. It allows you to quickly switch in and out chart sets, so you aren't loading the entire set of US ENCs.
Thanks abarrow.
I did try your suggestions, and am using them but what I found made the most improvement with graphic speed was in Advanced Options, I enabled the Accelerated Graphics (OpenGL)

Thanks.
I'm running into the same questions/problems. Been running OpenPlotter/OpenCPN on a PI 3 for 3 years, ending up at OpenCPN 4.8.4. It all worked great. Decided to use the enforced downtime to finally upgrade to a PI 4, OpenPlotter 2, and OpenCPN 5. It is essentially unusable.