This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Servo for rudder control.
Hi all, 

I am a beginner and have been learning arduino and have recently built a small 60cm iot controlled catamaran boat using the arduino cloud. The gps position is tracked and displayed in google maps and i have 2 motors and a servo controlled rudder. 

For the next stage of the project i would like to try to make the boat semi autonomous, i was looking into the Ardupilot system for drones but then remembered opencpn and pypilot and i think that this would maybe  more suitable to control the catamaran via openplotter  using pypilot over wifi /internet using VNC.
 I have purchased a rasberry pi 4 b and i have a neo6m gps connected and a mpu9265 that pypilot can see so i have a position and heading being processed in opencpn. My problem now is the pypilot motor controller, as i am having understanding how to build and connect it. For the iot boat i just used a servo connected to the esp32 and am wondering if i could do something similar for pypilot.  It appears to me that much of the motor controller circuit is designed for overload and stall protection but as the rudder on my remote boat is so small i am wondering if these are necessary for my application and is it possible to just connect a small 5v servo to the arduino instead?