This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Question about the estimated heading in GPS mode
Hi everybody. I am a French sailor who sails a 47-foot sailboat with my family on board.

I have been using pypilot almost every day for about 4 months now following a makeshift installation to replace my old non-functioning pilot. Pypilot has kept me sailing all this time in Scotland and Ireland, many thanks to Sean for his fine work which saved our trip.

To learn how to use Pypilot, I used the forums, wiki and the workbook, which I have started to translate into French here. In most cases I manage to set the PID gains correctly, even if I still find this system « abstract ». In general, everything works very well, however the adjustments are particularly difficult when the conditions are unstable, with little wind, a lot of swell and currents, and when I often have to change sails positions.

But among the questions I ask myself and for which I don’t find an answer on the internet, there is one that comes up a lot and that confuses me a lot: why, sometimes, the calculation of the course from the GPS (coordinates provided by the AIS transponder via SignalK/OpenPlotter) is wrong? Let me explain...