This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
No NMEA0183 input signal
Hi folks,

I’m new to the software and hardware stack but have been having great time far setting up all my boat devices.

I am unfortunately stuck, I’m on a Pi5 and aware that it does not have Seatalk support yet so I’ve jumped around this issue using a Raymarine Nautech 3015-059 A Seatalk interface that simply converts the signal to a NMEA0183 one. I connected and the lights started flickering showing that its receiving a signal. I then go through the process of enabling UART3 (UART5 is greyed out for some reason) restart and set up my connection and add to Signal K. 

When I go to Signal K I go to data connection and set up an input event name, wasnt sure if I needed to set up an output event but did anyway (there arent ant good tutorials explaining this step)

After that I rebooted the server and expected to see something in the Data browser but nothing… I see my connection in the connections activity in the dashboard but its only outputting not inputting.

The devices im trying to connect to are old Autohelm Wind and Speed devices ST50

I guess my question is what am I supposed to see after setting up my connection, something in tje data browser? This flickering green light on the Macarthur hat is taunting me.

Thanks so much!
Fey