OpenMarine
Configuring SPI MCP3008 - Printable Version

+- OpenMarine (https://forum.openmarine.net)
+-- Forum: OpenPlotter (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: How do I...? (https://forum.openmarine.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Configuring SPI MCP3008 (/showthread.php?tid=1100)

Pages: 1 2


RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - jim321 - 2019-03-24

thank you e-sailing , good to know i just installed a node red mcp3008 node it has that choice in its config.
i'll have a look at that file later.


RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - jim321 - 2019-03-29

i found all the parts pieces and breadboard for testing.
i did the change in the file e-sailing posted ..that should be all you need to do.

sudo nano /home/pi/.config/openplotter/read_sensors_d.py

change "spi.open(0,1)" to "spi.open(0,0)". (line 437)

ctrl x y
let me know if that works for you..


RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - sapers - 2019-04-22

(2019-03-24, 12:49 PM)jim321 Wrote: no you can setup sensors without the hat
i have an arduino with firmata for my sensors.
ads1115 also works for analog "I2C".
i think the MCP3008 "SPI" was fixed in the latest release..

I'm also hope for it. But now I have the next situation (by version 1.2.0):
SPI device is working but we can to see only "raw" data (not real). For example, Ubat has near 750V. Checkbox "convert" doesn't works because "value_0 is not defined". Value setting button is not working also.
Previouse version 1.0.0 works correctly (in this tab).
How to solve this problem?
Please help me.


RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - Laurin - 2019-06-09

(2019-04-22, 02:21 PM)sapers Wrote:
(2019-03-24, 12:49 PM)jim321 Wrote: no you can setup sensors without the hat
i have an arduino with firmata for my sensors.
ads1115 also works for analog "I2C".
i think the MCP3008 "SPI" was fixed in the latest release..

I'm also hope for it. But now I have the next situation (by version 1.2.0):
SPI device is working but we can to see only "raw" data (not real). For example, Ubat has near 750V. Checkbox "convert" doesn't works because "value_0 is not defined". Value setting button is not working also.
Previouse version 1.0.0 works correctly (in this tab).
How to solve this problem?
Please help me.

Yes, I have the same problem. Is there someone who solved this problem?


RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - Laurin - 2019-06-09

(2019-04-22, 02:21 PM)sapers Wrote:
(2019-03-24, 12:49 PM)jim321 Wrote: no you can setup sensors without the hat
i have an arduino with firmata for my sensors.
ads1115 also works for analog "I2C".
i think the MCP3008 "SPI" was fixed in the latest release..

I'm also hope for it. But now I have the next situation (by version 1.2.0):
SPI device is working but we can to see only "raw" data (not real). For example, Ubat has near 750V. Checkbox "convert" doesn't works because "value_0 is not defined". Value setting button is not working also.
Previouse version 1.0.0 works correctly (in this tab).
How to solve this problem?
Please help me.

Yes, I have the same problem. Is there someone who solved this problem? 



RE: Configuring SPI MCP3008 - e-sailing - 2019-06-10

Can you please check if you have the latest file /home/pi/.config/openplotter/classes/edit_MCP.py?
(It should be this one. https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sailoog/openplotter/beta/classes/edit_MCP.py)
You can easily check if you have it by searching for the line.
wx.Dialog.__init__(self, None, title=title, size=(450, 270))