This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New user - Looking to integrate with existing autotiller
Hello everyone, 

I am a new user of OpenPlotter. In fact, not yet a user as still reading and downloading. 

I'm relatively new to sailing (2 years) and also relatively new to Pi and microcontrollers but have been a software engineer for 20 years.

My goal is to create an IoT system on my boat. I'll be starting with simple projects, moving onto more complex projects as I build confidence, in no particular order: 

- I currently do not have a working MHU for my wind instruments and so have bought a RS485 wind speed sensor. It isn't as accurate as I'd like but is a good start for a fun project and is better than the nothing I have currently. I am currently playing with it and have output to the serial monitor the values in knots. The next step I wish to play with is to translate the reading into an NMEA 2000 message and build a CANbus trunk reading the message from another pi / pico / esp32 and displaying the values.

- Water detection in bilge - alarm if detected.

- Coolant flow monitoring - alarm if engine running without flow.